Issue 97055 - no warning when save file if there is hidden content
Summary: no warning when save file if there is hidden content
Status: CONFIRMED
Alias: None
Product: General
Classification: Code
Component: code (show other issues)
Version: DEV300m36
Hardware: All All
: P3 Trivial (vote)
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: AOO issues mailing list
QA Contact:
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: 84405
  Show dependency tree
 
Reported: 2008-12-09 09:04 UTC by redflagzhulihua
Modified: 2013-01-29 21:52 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this issue.
Description redflagzhulihua 2008-12-09 09:04:28 UTC
1. Create a new writer document
2. Tools-Options-OpenOffice.org-Security
3. In "Security options and warnings" section, click on "Options" button
4. Check "When saving or sending" in "Security warning" section in "Security 
options and warnings" dialog. Click OK button. Click OK button.
5. Input some characters in writer document. Select some characters and set 
them to hidden. (Format-Characters...-Effect)
6. Save document

No warning come out.
Comment 1 e_christenson 2010-02-06 09:54:50 UTC
I confirm the described behavior on Windows XP, Oo version 3.1.1 (OOo310m19-
build 9420). The help says "Select to see a warning dialog when you try to save 
or send a document that contains recorded changes, versions, or notes.", which 
is quite a bit different than the title over the checkbox, which includes the 
wording "Warn if document contains recorded changes, versions, hidden 
information or notes."

Probably worth including separate checkboxes for hidden paragraphs/sections and 
characters formatted as hidden or the same color as the background.  Assuming 
the title on the checkbox is correct, then, at a minimum, the help should 
indicate what hidden information is involved, and, if invisibly-formatted 
characters aren't going to be detected, that tidbit.  Perhaps the author of the 
dialog box meant to say "Warn if document contains hidden information such as 
recorded changes, versions, or notes".