This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 47922

Summary: [40cat] NewJ2SEProjectWizardIterator - IDE didn't create new project
Product: java Reporter: meliandra <meliandra>
Component: ProjectAssignee: Jiri Rechtacek <jrechtacek>
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME    
Severity: blocker    
Priority: P3    
Version: 4.x   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows ME/2000   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 41537    

Description meliandra 2004-08-25 15:29:03 UTC
[ BUILD # : 200408191352 ]
[ JDK VERSION : J2SE 1.5.0 ]

This exception could also come from wrong usage.

I've got a big project e.g.

ext.dev
ext.gui
ext.something

If I mount the src directory and compile everything I get compilation errors. Regarding other independently working developers haven't checked everything. But this didn't matter me in the most cases because I'm working in a different area.

I've posted "How to set main project class" in the netcat and get the suggestion to make project with just a part of my sources.

So what I now tried is to create a project where the source directory isn't src it's instead src/ext/dev.

After clicking on the button to create the project the exception occurs.

So from my point of view if I set up my project wrong I should get a meaningful error message.

java.lang.NullPointerException
	at org.netbeans.modules.java.j2seproject.ui.wizards.NewJ2SEProjectWizardIterator.instantiate(NewJ2SEProjectWizardIterator.java:145)
	at org.openide.loaders.TemplateWizard$Brigde2Iterator.instantiate(TemplateWizard.java:957)
	at org.openide.loaders.TemplateWizard.handleInstantiate(TemplateWizard.java:549)
	at org.openide.loaders.TemplateWizard.instantiateImpl(TemplateWizard.java:465)
	at org.openide.loaders.TemplateWizard.instantiate(TemplateWizard.java:351)
	at org.netbeans.modules.project.ui.actions.NewProject.actionPerformed(NewProject.java:75)
	at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:1849)
	at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2167)
	at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:420)
	at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:258)
	at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:234)
	at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(AWTEventMulticaster.java:231)
	at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:5465)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3089)
	at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:5230)
	at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:1961)
	at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:3933)
	at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2019)
	at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:3781)
	at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4205)
	at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:3885)
	at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:3815)
	at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2005)
	at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:1764)
	at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:3781)
[catch] at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:463)
	at 

java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:234)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:163)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:157)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:149)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:110)
Comment 1 Jesse Glick 2004-08-25 18:58:18 UTC
Apparently wiz.getProperty(PROP_NAME_INDEX) is null?
Comment 2 Jiri Rechtacek 2004-08-26 15:25:23 UTC
Please, could you try reproduce again? Bugfix 46387 might help here.
I'm not able to reproduce it on 040816 build. Thanks
Comment 3 Jiri Rechtacek 2004-09-03 15:32:47 UTC
Closed as WORKSFORME. Reopen if it appears again. Thanks