This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 57338

Summary: Allow caller to specify LibraryImplementation l10n
Product: projects Reporter: Mark Dey <markdey>
Component: LibrariesAssignee: Tomas Zezula <tzezula>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: blocker CC: phejl, pjiricka
Priority: P2 Keywords: API
Version: 4.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 44035    

Description Mark Dey 2005-04-01 14:53:50 UTC
The default LibraryImplementation attempts to do it's own localization lookups
for the library name and description using the system classloader and the
localizingBundle property. Creator has one use case where the localizations are
not available from the system classloader, but rather from a 3rd party component
library provider. Ideally, we'd want to pass alreay localized strings for
display name and description however the name property is used to derive library
file names and ant property names.

This is a request to extend the API to accommodate the above use case.
Comment 1 Jesse Glick 2007-03-27 22:44:33 UTC
I think there is no problem for the description, as you can simply return the
desired text from getDescription() and return null from getLocalizingBundle().
The problem is that there is no getDisplayName() method for which you could
provide text distinct from getName().

Desired also for sharable library descriptors, though not a high priority.
Comment 2 Jesse Glick 2007-04-27 18:56:24 UTC
Tomáš writes:

Display name not supported by the SPI. The display name requires a new SPI
interface LibraryImplementation2 which adds a new method getDisplayName.
Comment 3 Petr Hejl 2008-02-13 17:22:04 UTC
In order to have shareable server instance (j2ee) library I need to use library name as a true identifier (related to
server instance). If used in this way (without possibility to specify display name) the result user can see in the ide
is very confusing. Due to this we'll probably have to implement some ugly workaround although all other stuff works
quite fine.